fbpx
Project

Flipdot Ring

Client
Autostadt Wolfsburg
Services
Concept and design integration
Partner
Uwe Urbas
and WHITEvoid
Flipdot display for a car pick-up

Display board

The display board is located at the market place of the customer centre and informs the waiting visitors about the gate and time slot for picking up their new car. Instead of a neutral LED display with a purely informational purpose, the display itself becomes an attraction.
For this purpose, it was placed in ring form in direct proximity to the waiting visitors above the futuristic seating islands. On large rings, the display is now animated by thousands of flipdots.
The new display doesn’t only attract the attention of visitors visually. When the appointment reminders change, the mechanical flipping of the plates creates a nostalgic noise, which brings the flair of an old railway station into the modern hall. This reference to a technology from another era finds an attractive contrast in its conjunction with the modern design of the digital display rings.
At regular intervals, a pattern of dots dances across the rings, transforming them into a lively spectacle, while the melodic noise acoustically accompanies the choreography. Captivated, the visitors watch the display to finally spot their name on it – the signal for the longed-for pick-up of their car.

Detail of the flip dots

“A very simple principle: a round platelet that rotates under magnetic force. By multiplying it thousands of times, it becomes an information art work.”

Previous
Next

Leipziger Straße 56
10117 Berlin

Leipziger Straße 56

10117 Berlin

fbpx
Projekt

Autostadt Flipdotring

Kunde
Autostadt Wolfsburg
Leistungen
Konzept und Designintegration
Partner
Uwe Urbas
und WHITEvoid
Flipdot Anzeige für Autoabholung

Anzeigentafel

Die Anzeigetafel befindet sich auf dem Marktplatz des Kundencenters und informiert erwartungsfrohe Besucher über Gate und Zeitslot für die Abholung ihres Neuwagens. Anstelle einer neutralen LED-Tafel mit reinem Informationszweck wird die Anzeige nun selbst zur Attraktion.
Dazu wurde sie in Ringform in direkter Nähe zum wartenden Besucher über den futuristischen Sitzinseln platziert. Auf großen Ringen ist die Anzeige nun durch tausende Flipdots animiert.
Nicht nur optisch zieht die neue Anzeige die Aufmerksamkeit der Besucher auf sich. Wenn sich die Terminanzeigen ändern, erzeugt das mechanische Umschlagen der Plättchen ein nostalgisches Rauschen, welches das Flair eines alten Bahnhofs in die moderne Halle trägt. Diese Referenz an die frühere Technik findet einen reizvollen Kontrast in der Kombination mit dem modernen Design der digitalen Anzeigenringe.
In regelmäßigen Abständen tanzt ein Muster aus Punkten über die Ringe und verwandelt sie in ein lebendiges Spektakel, während das melodische Rauschen die Choreografie akustisch begleitet. Gebannt schauen Besucher in zur Anzeige, um endlich ihren Namen darauf zu entdecken - das Signal zur ersehnten Abholung ihres Autos.

Detail der Flipdots

„Ein ganz einfaches Prinzip: ein rundes Plättchen, das durch Magnetkraft gedreht wird. Durch die tausendfache Multiplikation wird es zum Informationskunstwerk.“

Voriger
Nächster

Leipziger Straße 56
10117 Berlin

Leipziger Straße 56

10117 Berlin