SVENJA TARABUSI

“Many offices claim to be family-friendly – here they really are”

Building a career working part-time? At an architecture firm? That’s possible. In the interview, oow associate Svenja Tarabusi talks about her unusual career – and how she, as a mother of two, helps shape a major project.

In many industries, young people complain about temporary jobs – for a long time this was also a problem in architecture. You are celebrating eight years with oow this year. When you look back: How has the industry changed?

It has been quite a fundamental change! At that time, there were mainly limited-term contracts and it was almost customary to move from one firm to another after graduating. Today, on the other hand, there is so much construction that there is a shortage of skilled workers. Now it is the applicants who can choose the studios. The entire situation has done a one-eighty.

You started at oow on a temporary basis as well, but you were soon offered a permanent position. How did that work out?

I had been working for oow for two years when I got pregnant. To be honest, at the time the combination of a limited-term contract and pregnancy was not really beneficial to my career. But Sebastian and Mathis reacted completely differently than probably 99 per cent of all other employers would have. They offered me a permanent position! At the time, they only had one other permanent employee. It was a huge vote of confidence that they gave me. They wanted to show me that they were determined to keep me. Especially in this situation. That was really great!

In the meantime, you have in fact become a mother of two and were on parental leave for three and a half years. And now, you’ve been back in the office part-time for three years. As an architect, is it feasible to work part-time?

Here it is! (laughs) Everyone knows that I only work in the mornings, and that works out really well, no problems whatsoever. On top of that, I also work from home. I live in the suburbs and it would take me over an hour to get to the office. With two small children, that would be a major hassle. But Sebastian and Mathis accommodated me in that regard as well and made it happen. Many companies today claim to be family-friendly without really being it. Here, on the other hand, it is put into practice and the bosses find ways to accommodate each individual! I was even promoted while working part-time and from home. That was a wonderful recognition of my work.

Is the job actually what you imagined it to be?

Yes and no. (laughs) I took art and math as advanced courses at school, and architecture really does combine the mathematical and artistic aspects. But I definitely wouldn’t have imagined it to be so complex and I didn’t realise that there are so many specialist planners that an architect has to “manage”. For example, our degree programmes do include some statics, of course, but in my day-to-day work it is the structural engineer who does the calculations and not us – I was not aware of that before. It is definitely an incredibly varied job and it’s great to be involved in a project from the very beginning. And, of course, to see it built at some point!

For example, you were responsible for the Itzel Sanatorium. Which parts of the project did you supervise?

I was honestly involved in everything, which is what made it so exciting. I joined the project during the conceptual phase, then worked on the planning permission and am now working on the detailed design. The next thing I have coming up is the tender. A colleague is in charge of supervision on the construction site in Bonn, but for other projects I will of course also be on site. I do enjoy the fact that I’m not only responsible for one thing, but can really “watch a building grow”. It just makes you relate to the building in a completely different way.

Our Team

en_GB

SVENJA TARABUSI

„Viele Büros geben sich familienfreundlich – hier ist man es wirklich“

Karriere in Teilzeit? In einem Architektur-Büro? Das geht. Oow-Associate Svenja Tarabusi erzählt im Interview von ihrem ungewöhnlichen Werdegang – und wie sie als zweifache Mutter ein Großprojekt mitgestaltet.

In vielen Branchen klagen junge Leute über befristete Jobs – lange war das auch ein Problem in der Architektur. Du feierst in diesem Jahr achtjähriges Jubiläum bei oow. Wenn du einmal zurück blickst: Wie hat sich die Branche gewandelt?

Ziemlich gravierend! Damals gab es hauptsächlich befristete Verträge und es war fast schon usus, dass man nach dem Abschluss von einem Büro zum anderen gezogen ist. Heute dagegen wird so viel gebaut, dass Fachkräfte fehlen. Nun sind es die Bewerber, die sich die Studios aussuchen können. Das Ganze hat sich um 180 Grad gedreht.

Du hast bei oow auch befristet angefangen, allerdings kam dann schnell die Festanstellung. Wie lief das ab?

Ich habe zwei Jahre für oow gearbeitet, als ich schwanger wurde. Ehrlich gesagt war zu der Zeit die Kombi aus befristetem Vertrag und Schwangerschaft nicht wirklich karrierefördernd. Aber Sebastian und Mathis haben komplett anders reagiert als es wahrscheinlich 99 Prozent aller anderen Arbeitnehmer getan hätten. Sie haben mir eine Festanstellung angeboten! Damals hatten sie nur eine Festangestellte. Es war ein großer Vertrauensbeweis, den sie mir damit entgegenbrachten. Sie wollten mir zeigen, dass sie mich unbedingt halten wollten. Gerade in dieser Situation. Das war wirklich toll!

Inzwischen bist du sogar zweifache Mutter und warst dreieinhalb Jahre in Elternzeit. Nun bist du seit drei Jahren wieder halbtags im Büro. Kann man als Architektin gut in Teilzeit arbeiten?

Hier ja! (lacht) Jeder weiß, dass ich nur vormittags arbeite, und das klappt wirklich problemlos. Hinzu kommt, dass ich auch noch im Homeoffice bin. Ich wohne am Stadtrand und würde über eine Stunde ins Büro fahren. Mit zwei kleinen Kindern wäre das ein erheblicher Aufwand. Aber auch da sind mir Sebastian und Mathis entgegengekommen und haben es ermöglicht. Viele Unternehmen geben sich ja heutzutage familienfreundlich, ohne es wirklich zu sein. Hier wird es dagegen gelebt und die Chefs schauen, wie sie auf jeden Einzelnen eingehen können! Ich wurde sogar in Teilzeit und im Homeoffice befördert. Das war eine tolle Anerkennung.

Ist der Beruf eigentlich so wie du ihn dir vorgestellt hast?

Jein. (lacht) In der Schule hatte ich Kunst und Mathe als Leistungskurse und die Architektur vereint tatsächlich den mathematischen und künstlerischen Aspekt. Ich hätte es mir aber definitiv nicht so komplex vorgestellt und wusste gar nicht, dass es so viele Fachplaner gibt, die ein Architekt „managen” muss. Etwas Statik zum Beispiel hatten wir natürlich auch im Studium, aber im Berufsalltag berechnet der Statiker und nicht wir, das war mir vorher nicht bewusst. Es ist auf jeden Fall ein wahnsinnig abwechslungsreicher Beruf und es ist toll, ein Projekt von Anfang an zu begleiten und natürlich irgendwann den Bau zu sehen!

Du warst zum Beispiel für das Itzel-Sanatorium verantwortlich. Welche Abschnitte hast du bei diesem Projekt betreut?

Ich war wirklich überall involviert, was es so spannend gemacht hat. Ich bin in der Entwurfsphase in das Projekt eingestiegen, habe dann die Baugenehmigung bearbeitet und bin nun an der Ausführungsplanung dran. Als Nächstes kommt dann die Ausschreibung auf mich zu. Die Begleitung auf der Baustelle in Bonn macht ein Kollege, aber bei anderen Projekten bin ich natürlich auch vor Ort. Mir gefällt es auch, dass ich nicht nur für eine Sache zuständig bin, sondern einem Bau wirklich „beim Wachsen” zusehen kann. Man hat einfach einen ganz anderen Bezug zu dem Bauwerk.

Unser Team

de_DE