fbpx
Project

Bellinda Palais

Client
WT80
Services
Competition
Offices transformed into flats – competition entry

Bellinda Palais

In 2010, it was still officially assumed in Berlin that the city would continue to shrink. The euphoria of the 90s had waned in the 00s and the first large corporations had already turned their backs on the city. Consequently, we were not very surprised when we were asked to convert the office building at Unter den Linden 74, which had been vacant for 10 years. We won the competition with a shared 1st place.
Back then, our design envisaged minimal modifications to the substance. We opted for creating large, luxurious flats in the given structure. Residential use was particularly hindered by the yard being too small – the neighbours seemed too close in any direction. We solved this issue by bringing a traditional element back into play: the shutter. In this case, they were designed to reflect daylight back to the neighbours when closed.
To further improve the situation, we planned to place a large art object in the middle of the courtyard – as an eye-catcher in the truest sense of the word – and as a daylight funnel for the covered lobby on the ground floor, which we beautifully designed as a gallery.

P.S. The conversion into flats never happened – we later developed the project in record time for the Federal Parliament Administration.

Lobby as a gallery space

“Although it wasn’t built, I still consider the design for the courtyard to be the first OOW masterpiece.”

Previous
Next

Leipziger Straße 56
10117 Berlin

Leipziger Straße 56

10117 Berlin

Projekt

Unter den Linden

Kunde
WT80
Leistungen
Wettbewerb
Büros werden zu Wohnungen - Wettbewerbsbeitrag

Bellinda Palais

2010 ging man in Berlin von offizieller Seite noch davon aus, dass die Stadt weiter schrumpfen wird. Die Euphorie der 90er Jahre hatte sich in den 00er Jahren gelegt und die ersten Großkonzerne hatten der Stadt schon wieder den Rücken gekehrt. Insofern waren wir wenig überrascht, als wir gebeten wurden, das seit 10 Jahren ungenutzte Bürogebäude Unter den Linden 74 umzunutzen. Den Wettbewerb haben wir mit einem geteilten 1. Preis gewonnen.
Unser Entwurf sah bereits damals minimale Eingriffe in die Substanz vor, dafür haben wir dann große herrschaftliche Wohnungen kreiert. Der Wohnnutzung stand insbesondere der zu kleine Hof entgegen – der Nachbar schien in alle Richtungen zu nah. Wir haben dieses Thema gelöst, indem wir ein traditionelles Element wieder ins Spiel brachten, den Fensterladen. In diesem Fall so gestaltet, dass er Tageslicht zu den Nachbarn reflektiert, wenn er geschlossen ist.
Um die Situation weiter zu verbessern haben wir ein großes Kunstobjekt in der Hofmitte vorgesehen – als Blickfang im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes – und als Tageslicht-Funnel für die überbaute Lobby im EG, die wir wundervoll als Galerie gefasst haben.

P.S. Der Umbau zu Wohnungen wurde nichts – wir haben das Projekt dann später für die Bundestagsverwaltung in Rekordzeit ausgebaut.

Die Lobby als Galerie

„Obwohl nicht gebaut, halte ich den Entwurf für den Hof weiterhin für das erste oow Meisterwerk.“

Voriger
Nächster

Leipziger Straße 56
10117 Berlin

Leipziger Straße 56

10117 Berlin